My Semester in Tech

The semester’s far from over, but I’m thinking ahead to final grades and winter break already. I’ll try to take advantage of this mood to make a few reflections on my use of technology in the classroom  and out over the past couple of months.

Push Notifications 1

Last year, I would frequently have students share their finished work with me – by sharing on Google Docs or e-mailing it to me – and then I would sit down with a heavy sigh and start making a spreadsheet of who had turned in what. This year, for each project, I’ve been creating a Google Document with a blank table, and telling students to add their own names and links to finished work. For more complex projects, I’ve been adding more columns for each blog post, reflection document, etc. that’s required. This simple change has been a big success – I think it’s saved me some time, but I also think it’s got some ancillary benefits for students – they get a visual reminder that it’s their responsibility to fill in the gaps in the chart, early finishers can proudly add their names to the top of the list, and late finishers have an easy place to review some of the turned-in work (if it’s public) to get a better idea of what they should be doing. Vandalism of the shared document is a distinct possibility, but it’s easy to discourage after a couple of shaming trips through Revision History.

Push Notifications 2

Conversely, I think I’ve been getting some positive results from pushing a bit more information out to the students, particularly through the use of e-mailed Google Calendar invitations as homework reminders. Last year I think I tended to only place this information on my blog or in a central Google Doc of class reminders, but thinking of my workflow as an adult, my e-mail inbox is my main way of telling when someone wants something from me, so there’s no reason why I shouldn’t take the extra minute or two to push reminder e-mails out to students’ inboxes.

Push Notifications 3

It’s a small thing, but this is the first year that we’ve had a database that allows one-click sending of an e-mail to one or all parents in a particular class, and I’ve really appreciated the function. In previous years I’d often found that dredging up a parent’s e-mail seemed to take forever, and half the time they had changed addresses since the last time I’d collected them. The new system we’ve got makes communicating with parents almost instantaneous (so thanks, IT department and Veracross). Another thing this new system is great for is for finding, within just a click or two, where a student currently is (or should be) in the building. Invaluable.

The Death of the DVD

Confession time. Earlier this semester, I wanted to watch part of a video which was on a DVD about 10 feet away in a cabinet at the back of my room. I found and watched a streaming version of the clip instead. It probably wasn’t good to take up some of the school’s bandwidth just because I didn’t want to go fish around for the disc, but, well, it happened. Something similar’s been happening with some of the resource books I have around the class – I’ve actually spent more time looking at PDFs of certain books with the students than I have passing the actual books around. I love books, but overall I’m at peace with this odd development.

Google and Apple

This is a very minor thing to note, but I think this semester I’ve started mentally distancing myself a bit from my previously feverish admiration for these two behemoths. While I still use their products constantly, I sense possible rumbling portents of their upcoming Microsoftification, and I think I’ll be ready not to care. A couple years ago, I was really excited about seemingly dozens of things like SketchUp (since sold), Blogger (haven’t used it in ages), Google Plus (tumbleweeds), Ping (avalanche of tumbleweeds), etc. The fact that the two of them seem to be starting to getting a bit childish and evil-er in their competition with each other – Google forcing me to use Chrome for various things, Apple killing iOS Google Maps, etc. – is making my preemptive mental cold shoulder that much easier.

The Twitter Convergence

For a couple of years, my window to the Web was my RSS reader. I might be late to realize this, but this past semester I’ve really noticed that, since I’m following the Twitter feeds of most of my news sources, Twitter has begun to almost replicate my RSS inbox. So, yes, Twitter is still the place where individual people can bore us with what they had for breakfast – but it’s also now the first place I go for news, blog updates and, well, pretty much everything else. I’ve also started to notice a greater awareness of, if not use of, Twitter among the Middle School students. They still don’t seem interested in it at all, but they’ve heard of it.

67 Comments

Filed under COETAIL, Education

67 responses to “My Semester in Tech

  1. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. I hardly leave responses, however i did a few searching and wound up here My
    Semester in Tech | alexguenther. And I actually do have a few
    questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of these responses come across like left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to
    post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your community sites like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  3. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!
    It is the little changes that make the largest changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Why visitors still use to read news papers when in this technological globe everything
    is existing on web?

  5. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    However think about if you added some great visuals or videos to give
    your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics
    and video clips, this website could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its niche.
    Superb blog!

  6. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining,
    but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your
    placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.

    Make sure you update this again soon.

  7. Hi there, this weekend is nice in support of me,
    since this time i am reading this great informative post here at my house.

  8. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would
    really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.

    Kudos

  9. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually know
    what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over
    with my web site =). We can have a hyperlink exchange contract among us

  10. hello!,I really like your writing so a lot! proportion we keep in touch extra approximately your
    article on AOL? I require an expert on this area
    to unravel my problem. Maybe that’s you! Having a look ahead to see you.

  11. I am not sure where you are getting your information,
    but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

  12. Howdy, I believe your blog could be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it has some
    overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful website!

  13. I believe everything posted made a bunch of sense. However, what about this?
    what if you added a little content? I am not suggesting
    your content isn’t good, but suppose you added something that grabbed a person’s attention?
    I mean My Semester in Tech | alexguenther is
    kinda plain. You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write post headlines to grab people interested. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to get readers excited about everything’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little bit more
    interesting.

  14. Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉
    I am going to revisit once again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other
    people.

  15. Risk Of Flooding Can Affect Your Home Insurance Quote. Most household insurance companies will offer discounts for putting in a NACOSS approved burglar alarm.
    So instead of living in danger it is better if you take some home insurance policy after studying well the home
    insurance quotes at cheap rate.

  16. With the increasing competition among websites today, search engine optimisation has become far more important than ever before.

    Most SEO tools do offer a free trial period before you have to pay a dime.
    Although in the search engines market exist very advanced tools that cost a lot, there are many free SEO tools which can
    help the novice and advanced SEO marketer to save valuable time.

  17. To make your site much more of an origin, try to become an expert in your particular area.

    Search engine optimization is a technique that improves your page rank in the search engine results page (SERP).
    Also, if the website is online then you can check the time it takes the request to
    reach server.

  18. Their Rank Tracker is a massive keyword research and rank checking machine, intuitive in use and fast.
    The basic work of a backlink checker or backlink checker tool is to give information regarding the various backlinks of your competitors and to get backlinks from these companies.
    SEO Spy – Glass – Majestic search engine optimization – Linkscape.

  19. Search engines will give your page a ranking based in part on how much
    of a resource they think it is to others. While doing your research,
    first compile a list of all the companies you want to look into
    that offer SEO Reseller Plans. Google webmaster on the other hand gives you a view of what Google “sees”
    on your site including crawling speed, crawling rate, highest pagerank of your site and more.

  20. Ultimately, what plan is best is really in the eyes of the
    buyer. A simple rule of thumb for just about
    any business is that if that business assumes a greater risk of
    loss, they’ll have to charge the people participating a greater share of the cost. In order to be eligible for the subsidies and assistance with out-of-pocket expenses, an individual or family’s gross
    income will be compared to the federal poverty level (FPL).

  21. Presently, however, the world wide web has made this job an easy process to perform.
    s 18 to get her temporary license and then perhaps
    after graduating college she can get her permanent license.
    After calling the police, you get ready to call your insurance company, and then it hits you.

  22. Agents and brokers who have worked with Tennessee insurance
    plans for many years already know which insurers offer the most popular plans and have the
    best reputations. ” Yes, that is the reason for buying any health insurance policy, but, unfortunately, many policies fall short of actually providing this protection. The amount paid by the insured for out-of-pocket expenses is based on a scale from 6% of out-of-pocket expenses for the lowest income levels up to 27% of out-of-pocket expenses for income levels up to 250% of the FPL.

  23. Without Medicare Advantage, seniors will be back on Traditional Medicare and
    have more chronic conditions which require more medical care.
    Get coverage towards emergency and routine healthcare check-ups, medical treatment
    options such as eye and dental care, and so on with Well being insurance coverage California.

    This leverage allows the PEO to obtain the best possible coverage at
    the most affordable cost.

  24. If your BMI is between 29-43, a health insurer may choose to
    offer you health insurance with a rated up premium.
    The best part about such an insurance plan is that students can make a one of
    payment or close it flexibly in easy monthly installments according to their requirement.
    There will be some differences from State to State on how this works but you can
    expect that your out of pocket for medical bills will be less due to this 150-250% FPL qualification.

  25. Thanks for finally writing about >My Semester in Tech | alexguenther
    <Loved it!

  26. The major plus is basically that you are fully covered for the drive home and this kind of peace of mind is precious.
    What insurance can you set up for driving the borrowed vehicle.
    Properly, whether or not temporary cover is a wise transfer
    financially will very much rely on your circumstances.

  27. 4) In the winter, poorly insulated pipes can freeze
    and burst, sending water flying everywhere. You need to consider the different aspects of each quote.
    A person has all rights to clear his doubts before purchasing a plan.

  28. You should think about opting for such a plan if you are between jobs.

    In 2010, we purchased one of those private policies for 150 a month.
    They will also boost your immune system and help you fend off seasonal bugs.

  29. Content promotion tools allow you to distribute your own links to social
    networking sites. For the average Joe it is much
    more economical to use free SEO tools available on the internet.
    Google Ad – Words Keyword Tool has a users-friendly interface and moreover it’s totally free.

  30. Despite the fact that this tool is originally aimed to assist Google Ad – Words advertisers, you can use that for keyword research too.
    Some webmasters and bloggers describe link baiting as one of the methods of link building, the other say that it’s a natural outcome of making up compelling website content. Investing your time wisely here will save you time and effort in the following stages – simply because competing for highly competitive keywords, such as “make money online” is a very different task to competing for say “home made chili recipes”.

  31. Ask also about how they will help you when medical emergencies arise.
    You are also exempted from paying those medical options which are not required.
    In addition, you are able to choose where exactly you may be
    taken for treatment and also when you are getting treated, in certain situations.

  32. There are three important considerations to look at in terms of eligibility.

    Some people who make under 150% of the FPL will likely be eligible
    for fully paid Medicaid. Be sure to check your insurance plan to see what medications it will cover.

  33. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site. I’m hoping to check out the same
    high-grade content from you in the future as well. In truth, your
    creative writing abilities has encouraged me
    to get my own website now 😉

  34. Kim

    Just simply because it’s costly, you might be tempted for you to lower the amount of policy. Once you pay them the initial sum, they will use many techniques to keep on extracting cash from you and one day they will simple disappear without a trace. Firstly, if you only have third party cover you can pretty safely assume you won’t be provided with a
    replacement car.

  35. However, have you ever wondered, what is the use of insurance if it is not delivered on time.
    Here are a few reasons why it is important to compare life insurance quotes.

    As a small business owner, health insurance is a costly proposition.

  36. Make sure to hire a professional, insured jumper company when you make your next party rental
    reservation. These are, you should be 21 or over (minimum
    age may be depending on the vehicle). Tip:
    Create URGENCY by telling them that you are only accepting bids until X date, at which point you will choose the most inexpensive offer that meets your needs.

  37. An individual can get insurance quote car from various resources.
    This would mean substantial savings that you could have otherwise
    spent on a policy you could not possibly fully benefit from.
    Ask insurers how abundant accountability and blow allowance needs to be purchased to accommodate
    your alone or business needs.

  38. You use your brother’s car, day cover will be best to cover you from any untoward incident. Snapshot uses technology that observes your driving behavior, and gives you a discount on your car insurance based on that information. There isn’t much in
    the insurance coverage community that is that quick but typically
    in unexpected emergency circumstances time is of
    the essence and the insurance providers are conscious of that.

  39. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

  40. Hi terrific website! Does running a blog similar
    to this take a lot of work? I have virtually no knowledge of programming however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please
    share. I know this is off subject however I simply needed to ask.
    Many thanks!

  41. I have read so many content on the topic of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is
    truly a pleasant paragraph, keep it up.

  42. ‘ Newsworthy pieces from your field of expertise that your audience would find interesting. Let me begin with Search Engine Marketing, as this term is very broad and fairly simple to explain. Why Search engine marketing Copywriters are So Popular and How They Make Their.

  43. This will create a long “chain” of forum profiles all linking to each other and to your site, which will
    make it much easier for the search engines to find
    and index all the profiles. However to select a
    proper backlink checker you need to research and find the best tool that is suitable for your website.

    Most are simply primitive dashboards and essentially clones of one another.

  44. Search engine optimization is necessary for online businesses because it lets your website get found.
    Consequently it is very important for your website
    to do well on one or all of the top 3 search engines over the Web namely; Google, Yahoo.
    The search engines will see that you have a lot of valuable information.

  45. There are many different levels of landscaping
    businesses to start, from simple lawn care to advanced, earth moving projects;
    however, the exact strategy should be marketed towards the
    general need required by the customer. t assume that Google will
    necessarily use your descriptions or keywords.

    With rare exception, the point of writing SEO articles is to monetize a website.

  46. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  47. I seriously love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make
    this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my very own blog and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Thank you!

  48. ‘ Show the automated descriptions that search engines display for your pages. Let’s say you linked to a page that (when you created the link), talked about the American Revolution.
    You can download the trial version of ABCSpell software from the link given below:.

  49. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  50. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative
    and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I came across this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  51. Even among the states actively working towards their health insurance exchanges, the level of health insurance exchange implementation readiness, vastly differs.
    Check out the HSAs and FSAs that your employer may offer as these are plans that allow you to save for health
    care on a tax-free basis. With all the Health Insurance
    Companies out there you might be wondering what the differences are and
    which one is right for you.

  52. Limited usage policies offer an effective way of lowering the cost of covering your
    vehicle. Usually, the lower the deductible the higher the premium cost.
    The process of using the car insurance estimatormight
    seem to be a little difficult for you in the beginning.

  53. whoah this weblog is fantastic i really like reading your
    articles. Stay up the great work! You understand, lots of individuals
    are searching around for this information, you could help them greatly.

  54. What is the harm in relying on advice or assistance from the car insurance agent.

    The web is really a great place to find quotes without feeling like you
    are trapped and have to go with that business, even in
    the event you do not like the pricing you got from them.
    Medical insurance coverage for very first support is as well an vital
    necessity for a whole lot of full coverage vehicle insurance policies.

  55. For you to be prepared, you must know what questions are usually asked on health insurance quotes.

    Many times they don’t and that leaves you the consumer stuck with sometimes hundreds of thousands of dollar in medical bills.

    In both the California group and individual markets,
    by State law, carriers were allowed to adjust an individual
    person, family, or companies rate by a certain amount based
    on the health history of the individual or group at the time of enrollment (and at annual renewal for groups).

  56. Deducible options range from $500 to $5,000 with most companies and
    coinsurance options typically, 0%, 20% and sometimes 50%.
    With its base in Georgia, it is assuring secured future
    to the entire nation. Moreover, there are many insurance
    companies that offer you policies at affordable rates.

  57. The insurance firm is aware of the market needs and provides portability of benefits with their Easy Health and Maxima policies whereas the
    customer who opts to choose their product can transfer protection based
    health policy from any insurer with the accumulated benefits.
    However, despite the trend showing a decline in the last 5 years,
    more and more health based insurance companies are coming
    up to make room for interested residents to come up and invest and
    thereby stay clear of the emergency situations that might arise.

    as well as emergency ambulance charges will be covered by the insurance cover.

  58. Thus, you could get actively assisted by a specialist so that could guarantee that you now have selected
    the most cost-effective solution for your needs with extensive coverage.
    These could add up to a significant quantity, over all.
    It’s also wise to know that should you pay for the particular rental car employing a credit card,
    the greeting card company might provide temporary coverage for that
    vehicle.

  59. When a potential insured is facing the prospect of a high risk auto insurance contract, it pays
    to look beyond the label, do some homework and some legwork, and take these few simple steps to get the
    automobile insurance contract premiums back under control.
    How do you make sure you’ve got the best possible insurance cover for your car.
    Think of it this way, an insurance company is betting that you are not
    going to enter into a car accident.

  60. It would be best for you not to delay until catastrophe comes banging on
    your entrance to get some help. Too often, these paid advertisements entice aging baby
    boomers to call the toll-free number on the screen just so
    a salesperson can talk them into buying a policy
    from the infomercial sponsor. This means once the cap of
    one hundred thousand dollars was met the person who
    was at fault would have to find other means of paying for the remaining balance.

  61. I wonder if I may have saved by doing itt thhe opposite way
    round. Still, it doesn’t mean that it’s impossible to gett what you want, especially in the world where everything yoou wish too get can be
    taken, you only have to know where to look.
    This will cover your vehicle even if it iis nnot owned bby your employer.

  62. Rental temporary vehicle insuurance iis not true car insurance up
    to it iss an agreement involving you and also the rental company with
    the company to reimburse people for damages. That’s why you should think about the car
    you want to drive before actually buying it. How To Reduce
    The Price Of Full Coverage Auto Insurance:.

  63. These savings could help you save a lot oof money and customarily raise
    each year. Thiss is also something to take advantage of if you
    have a child who attends college farr from home and is covered on your policy.

    Previously 2 wheeler insurance or car insurance features were usually
    explained by insurance agents whho represented insurance companies.

  64. Again, out-of-pocket expenses are usually limited to the
    amount of the deductible of the insured’s policy, allowing
    for advance financial planning since costs are
    known in advance. It would be very beneficial for you to take 5 minutes and visit our website in order
    to find the cheapest auto insurance in Los Angeles. Fix Some Common Minecraft
    Lags: Now, I wish to share some common Minecraft lags
    and solutions with you.

  65. I don’t have up to date tetanus shots, so I’m particularly careful around rusty nails.

    Business Profile: Northwest Dog Shots – your pet’s photographer.
    For instance, do you really need private health insurance or would other forms of insurance
    cover be enough for you.

  66. Petersburg and you will be able to compare a lot of different home
    insurance quotes and coverage. The final thimg you have to understand about homeowners insurance in Rochester Hills is that purchasing insurance is ultimately protection from hazard.
    Of course you’ll want to be careful that you don’t agree to pay a larger deductible than you can actually afford.

  67. This is truie in the gamke of real life hen it comes too insurance; especially business insurance.
    This is applicable, in particular, to car, hoe andd life insurance.
    Soon the financial burden of time off work and mounting medical bills drives innocent
    car accident victims to contact an attorney.

Leave a Reply

